Galápagos Islands

The Galápagos Islands (Official name: Archipiélago de Colón; other Spanish names: Islas de Colón or Islas Galápagos, from galápago, “saddle”—after the shells of saddlebacked Galápagos tortoises) are an archipelago of volcanic islands distributed around the equator, 972 km west of continental Ecuador in the Pacific OceanCoordinates: 0°40′S 90°33′W / -0.667, -90.55.

The Galápagos archipelago has a population of around 40,000, is a province of Ecuador, a country in northwestern South America, and the islands are all part of Ecuador’s national park system. The principal language on the islands is Spanish.

The islands are famed for their vast number of endemic species and the studies by Charles Darwin during the voyage of the Beagle that contributed to the inception of Darwin’s theory of evolution by natural selection.

Charles Darwin Research Station

Map of the Galapagos Islands

Galápagos Islands - Featured Tours
galapagos islands vacation
21 Days – 20 Nights

Discover the Galapagos Islands Wonders

galapagos island tours
25 Days – 24 Nights

Galapagos Islands – Lake Titicaca – Machu Picchu – Puerto Maldonado

the best of ecuador and peru
19 Days – 18 Nights

Isabela II Luxury Cruise Galapagos Islands – Machu Picchu

galapagos island trips
13 Days – 12 Nights

Galapagos Islands and Inca Trail Tours

machu picchu and galapagos tours
12 Days – 11 Nights

Machu Picchu – Galapagos Islands

Experience the Galápagos with Iletours